Articles

A Week in Passing

In Plans, Slice of Life on December 24, 2010 by ryepdx Tagged: ,

I had a great Monday. I woke up at 8am, far earlier than usual. I spent the first half hour writing via this website I discovered called 750words. The idea is to start your day with a brain dump, writing out the first 750 words that come into your head. What you write is then analyzed for certain keywords and a set of graphs are returned showing you what topics your writing was about, in percentages. I found this gives a pretty good indication of the things I’m concerned about, the things my subconscious has been chewing on while I’ve been going about my day.

That day I saw the two biggest slices of the pie were devoted to “money” and “success.” My mood was judged to be introspective and uncertain, though still mostly positive. Okay, I thought, makes sense. That day I had an interview for a freelance job at 10am, so I was guessing the money issue would soon be taken care of, at least for a while.

I did well at the interview, despite being late. The company seemed to consist of two people operating out of a house in a suburban neighborhood. The way there was rather circuitous, and I understood why it was that a number of the other interviewees had apparently gotten lost on their way there. When I arrived, my potential employers greeted me in sweatpants. I had dressed in a suit, a fact that did not escape comment. They had a medium-sized brown dog, of what breed I couldn’t say. It was rather cute, and we made fast friends. That is, until it was put away. Ah well.

At the end of the interview I was told I would be sent a test problem to solve and that they would “try to keep the dog under control better next time.” I left in high spirits, of the mind that the job was as good as mine. They had told me what the test problem consisted of and it was a task that would likely only take me an hour at the very most.

Afterward I returned to my apartment, blogged, fiddled around with my condenser mic a bit (I had not yet completed it at that point), and then went off to Portland to see my girlfriend again. Now, seeing my girlfriend is in itself enough to make my day good. But that Monday I had already nailed an interview, just about finished my condenser mic, and written a blog. It had been productive and I felt hopeful.

So could Monday have been any better?

Yes, apparently. My girlfriend made brownies.

Sorry, I don’t have any pictures. But you can pretend these are them:
Brownies.

And then Tuesday I saw Requiem for a Dream for the first time.

I felt like Requiem for a Dream was one of those movies everyone else had seen except for me. The theme from it, Lux Aeterna, had become just about ubiquitous, being used in trailers for everything from Lord of the Rings to The DaVinci Code. I knew it was a depressing film. I knew it was about people’s lives disintegrating. I had heard it was disturbing. Somehow I just was not prepared for it though. I’m not sure if there’s anything I could have done to prepare for it. It was incredible in every sense: the soundtrack was excellent, the cinematography was inspired, and the acting was dead convincing. It was an incredible film, but it left me bereft of all the optimism Monday had brought with it.

The movie is about a group of four people who decide to pursue their dreams. They end up going about it all wrong, however, and their lives are changed irrevocably for the worse. I could almost swear I heard the black vortex from a few days before looking over my shoulder and chuckling to itself.

Damn you, I thought. I need to make a plan!

A plan, however, was already forming.

Leave a Reply

