Articles

Some Distant Star’s Shore

In Demos, Video on January 7, 2011 by ryepdx

Well, it’s official! I’m nocturnal. I went to bed at about 12pm today after staying up all night working on that ridiculous freelance project that’s been consuming all my time and woke up about half an hour ago. Go me! :-p

I quickly recorded that video I promised you and put it up on YouTube. It’s a song I wrote which I’ve titled “Some Distant Star’s Shore” for now. (If you have a better idea for a title, let me know. I’ve kicked around a few in my head, but that was the best I could come up with.)

Okay, so WordPress is being stupid and not letting me upload my video here. You can watch it over on my YouTube channel though. Sorry for the inconvenience!

Lyrics:
I’m pushing my way to the front of the queue
I’m leaving the Earth, so finite and blue,
For the infinite inkwell of space so that I
Might make my own way out in the night sky.
For distant galaxies beckon me home
And I own I’d like to drift out on the cosmic foam
On the edge of the universe, where I was born
To make my home on some distant star’s shore.

Now it’s cold out in space;
Though my suit keeps me warm, icy veins cross my visor like lace.
And I’m faced with the knowledge my last glimpse of Earth
Might be millions of miles from the place of my birth.
And the ones that I love may be all left behind,
My ambitions may fail me, my hopes rob me blind,
But I reach all the same for I know why I was born:
I must make my home on some distant star’s shore.

What unknown brave new worlds will I see, will I find?
Will I be blinded by the darkness, lost before the harvest?
The hardest part of leaving has never been receding,
But the empty weightless sense of freedom.

All my rocket fuel was spent in my high speed escape
And my solar sails can’t even pull their own weight.
Like the last Roman sent over Hadrian’s wall,
It’s a long road ahead but I’m bound to the call.
But no field full of heather will bear my name:
It’s the stars in their courses to which I lay claim.
Though black holes may menace, though sages may warn,
I must make my home on some distant star’s shore.

Now it’s cold out in space;
Though my suit keeps me warm, icy veins cross my visor like lace.
But I’m here all the same for I know why I was born:
I must make my home on that distant star’s shore.

What do you think?

I also found out that I finally got my diploma! I was a third of a credit short from graduating last year. Turned out that though credits rounded when determining whether individual program requirements were being met, they didn’t round when determining whether you had enough credits to graduate. I managed to get my job at the time counted as field experience, though.

Have a great weekend! See you all again Monday.

Leave a Reply

