Articles

Gutting Microwaves

In Uncategorized on January 26, 2011 by ryepdx

I finally figured out how to get videos on my blog. It turned out to be easy, which only makes the fact that I couldn’t figure it out before somewhat embarassing.

I didn’t make the video above, but I thought it was sufficiently impressive to warrant sharing. I suddenly have an urge to visit Oslo, Norway. :-3

Lauren and I have been busy practicing for our show on February 9th. We’re going to try performing with pre-recorded beats to get around our drummer-challenged status. I’m not nervous about it yet, but I know I’ll be getting a case of the jelly-legs come the day of the show. I’m a little concerned about what the audience’s reaction to canned drumming will be. Still, I figure it’s worth a shot.

I took apart another microwave today. “Wait, ‘another?'” I can hear you say. Well yes, I suppose I did forget to blog about the first one I took apart. My parents’ microwave died and, seeing as I’m an eccentric technophile, they asked me if I wanted to take any parts from it before they sent it off to be recycled.

Did you know that you can make an arc welder with two microwave transformers? Neither did I, but I found out after about five minutes of searching Google. I took out the transformer, along with anything else that looked interesting, and then camped out on Craigslist, checking the “free” section a couple times every day for another microwave.

I lucked out today. Someone out in Tigard was giving away a microwave whose only problem appeared to be a blown turntable motor. Everything else? In working order.

So now I have the guts from two microwaves sitting in a corner of my room. I have to figure out what to do with all the motors and the two magnetrons. What am I going to do with two magnetrons? I have no idea. I need to find a project for those which isn’t likely to cook my innards. I feel like there aren’t many of those kinds of projects out there aside from, you know, making a microwave.

My bandmate’s right. I am Bob the Builder.

More music in video form coming Friday. Stay tuned!


Safety tip: If you’re ever gutting a microwave, make sure you drain the capacitor as soon as you get the case off. You can do this by using a screwdriver with an insulated to bridge the terminals on it. If there was power in the capacitor, you’ll hear a loud “pop.” A lot of manufacturers these days just connect the capacitor to the case with a resistor, though, so it drains on its own after being unplugged for a while. Still, it doesn’t hurt to take a few seconds to make sure the capacitor really has been drained.

Leave a Reply

