Articles

Ramble Ramble Ramble

In Slice of Life on February 1, 2011 by ryepdx Tagged: , ,

Nothing like a good ol’ fashioned slice o’ life to shut me up.

Sorry I missed my post yesterday. I could feel the tension from all of you. All six of you. I had stayed up all night working on That One Freelance Job and ended up sleeping through most of the day. Various other errands then consumed the rest of my Monday and I found myself in Tuesday with nothing posted. I’ve made some good progress on that project, though. I could be one or two more all-night coding sessions away from finishing. I just need to gather some of that ever-elusive focus.

Focus is hard to gather when there’s a revolution going on, even if that revolution is halfway across the globe. I haven’t even spent that much time gathering facts about it due to trying to get things lined up to move in to the artist apartments where my bandmate live and working almost nonstop on That One Freelance Job, but there it is, taking up space in the back of my head. The role that technology has played, especially the hitherto frivolous-seeming Twitter, has captured the technologist in me. “When the revolution comes, it will be…” tweeted? That was a surprise.

It has set me to wondering about what good I could be doing with technology and set me to wondering about what my focus is, what it should be. I believe in long-term action, long-term planning. Only the lucky get anywhere without sustained effort. My heritage is Irish, so I definitely can’t count on luck. (Has anyone else besides me wondered how the “luck of the Irish” came to mean “good luck?” A most ironic malapropism, that.)

On the other hand, I think there may be something to being rudderless for a while, if only to find your internal compass again. As Steve Jobs put it:

“…have the courage to follow your heart and intuition, they somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.”

Well, what do I want to become? How about this: Warren Buffet meets John Lennon meets Cory Doctorow meets Ghandi. Something like that, I’m not too picky about the icons as long as they’re more or less equivalent. But how do I make all these mesh up?

I guess that’s where living creatively comes in. I guess that’s why I’m going to have to work hard at this.

The Universe has at least begun cooperating. The freelance jobs have continued their “just right” trickle into my inbox. All I have to fight now is myself. I’m meeting someone tomorrow about potentially joining a startup. I’ll see what their idea is, whether it’s something I can get behind, whether they want too much from me.

Honestly? There is one project I would personally like to see brought to fruition. As soon as I finish with That One Freelance Project I’ll have to get started on it. It’ll require people who have skills in business theory and psychology, people who are way smarter than me and probably hard to find, but I think it’ll have the potential to do some really cool things for the world as a whole. It’s a need I’ve identified which I’m really excited about trying to fill.

I’ll keep you updated.

Leave a Reply

