Articles

A Visit From The Neighbors

In Uncategorized on February 14, 2011 by ryepdx

*knock knock*

I put down my guitar and get up from my bed. Perhaps my neighbors are annoyed by my attempts at songwriting?

I open the door to find my neighbors, John and Yoko, standing there with a ladder.

“Hi. We want to get up into your attic,” says John.

“Again?”

“We need to take pictures,” says Yoko.

The management has been ignoring their requests for work on the pipes above their room, claiming that nothing can be done due to the insulation in the attic. But there is no insulation in the attic, as they discovered in their last foray through the access panel in my ceiling.

“Have a cookie,” says Yoko.

“Oh, thanks.” I take the cookie. From anyone else I might have been wary: I’ve learned from Lauren’s encounter with the magical brownies left in the kitchen all those weeks ago. But John and Yoko don’t strike me as the “magical brownie” type.

“You can go back to practicing,” John yells down to me after he’s scrambled up into the attic.

Well, technically it was songwriting, I think, but I don’t correct him. The song I was writing owes far more to my pre-Sound Trash days than to anything before, and as such will probably stay in my notebook for a long, long time. Usually I can’t write if there’s anyone else around, but somehow it’s alright with John and Yoko in my attic. The situation is just weird enough, and they’re far enough removed.

When they return, John’s speaking in a high falsetto. I can’t decide if he’s making fun of Yoko’s high, mousy voice or not. I keep thinking of making a joke about puberty, or about castration, but I’m too polite and I can’t think of a clever way to slip a comment in anyway. (“So, still waiting on your balls to drop?” Nah.)

He keeps talking like this until they leave. I shut the door and go back to songwriting.

I have weird neighbors.

Leave a Reply

